New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy Joins U.S. Climate Alliance

U.S. Climate Alliance
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  February 22, 2018
CONTACT:  Julie Cerqueira |

New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy Joins U.S. Climate Alliance

Bipartisan Climate Alliance Expands to 17 Governors, Representing over 40% of U.S. Population and nearly $9 Trillion of National GDP

This week, Governor Phil Murphy signed into legislation a bill adding New Jersey as a member of the U.S. Climate Alliance.  He stated that “New Jersey is committed to protecting our environment and investing in a clean energy economy. By joining the U.S. Climate Alliance, we are joining with likeminded states to push back against a federal government that continues to undermine and abandon initiatives to combat the reality of climate change. I am proud to take this step and make environmental initiatives a top priority in New Jersey.”

By joining the Alliance, governors commit to:

  • Implement policies that advance the goals of the Paris Agreement, and aim to reduce greenhouse gas emission by at least 26-28 percent below 2005 levels by 2025;
  • Track and report progress to the global community in appropriate settings, including when the world convenes to take stock of the Paris Agreement; and
  • Accelerate new and existing policies to reduce carbon pollution and promote clean energy deployment at the state and federal level.

Since taking office on January 16th, Governor Murphy has reestablished New Jersey’s leadership on climate change and clean energy by taking a number of concrete steps to accelerate emissions reductions in the state.  Notably, the governor issued an Executive Order to begin the process of reentering the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI) – a cooperative, market-based program to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, joining seven other Alliance States engaged in the program.  He has also directed the Board of Public Utilities to begin the process of advancing 3,500 MW of offshore wind energy generation by 2030 – the most ambitious statewide goal to date.

Governor Murphy is also fighting back against efforts to undermine climate leadership in the United States.  Under his leadership, New Jersey is joining a multi-state coalition opposing the federal government’s expansion of offshore drilling in the Atlantic Ocean, and withdrawing New Jersey from a multi-state lawsuit (West Virginia v. EPA) opposing the Obama Administration’s signature climate change rule, the Clean Power Plan.

With New Jersey as its newest member, the Alliance represents over 40 percent of the U.S. population and a nearly $9 trillion economy – in GDP terms, it would be the third largest country in the world.  The climate and clean energy policies of these states have created 1.6 million clean energy jobs, equivalent to nearly half of all clean energy jobs in the United States.

Alliance states are showing the nation and the world that ambitious climate action is achievable, and that climate leadership grows economies. The 2017 analysis by the Climate Alliance, shows that under current policies alone, Alliance states are on track to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 24-29 percent below 2005 levels by 2025.  Alliance states continue to lead – on February 27th, Alliance States will be convening in Washington, DC to set their strategic priorities for 2018, and looking towards the September Global Climate Action Summit and the 24th annual climate negotiations to demonstrate how Governors are delivering on their climate commitments, and identify additional opportunities for ambitious climate action.



The United States Climate Alliance was formed by Governors Andrew Cuomo, Jay Inslee, and Jerry Brown in response to the U.S. federal government’s decision to withdraw the United States from the Paris Agreement on climate change. The bipartisan coalition of governors is committed to reducing greenhouse gas emissions consistent with the goals of the Paris Agreement.

US Climate Alliance

California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Hawaii | Maryland | Massachusetts | Minnesota |

| New Jersey | New York | North Carolina | Oregon | Puerto Rico | Rhode Island | Vermont |

| Virginia | Washington |